Aquarius - Your Geometric Arrow

By in

A Fixed Sign

This month’s geometric arrow design is for the sign of Aquarius. Here I explain the encoded information in my design.

Aquarius is one of the four FIXED signs (the other three being Taurus, Leo and Scorpio) The fixed signs hold onto or are attached to something.  Aquarius is attached to ideals.  The glyph or symbol for fixed is a square or rectangle with a horizontal line in the middle. On my Aquarius arrow, you see the symbol almost at the top.

An Air Sign

Because Aquarius is the sign of the water carrier, many people assume it is a Water sign.  Aquarius is in fact and Air sign… well, they DO like to bend the rules quite a bit.  The glyph or symbol for this element is an upward pointing triangle with a line across it. The other Air signs are Gemini and Libra. Air signs like to gather and process information. They have a strong sense of right and wrong. Aquarius may work for the good of groups rather than individuals. The symbol on Aquarius’s arrow is just below midway and has the symbol for its co-ruling planet of Saturn inside it.

Ruling Planet(s)

Each sign of the Zodiac is ruled by a planet (or co-ruled by two). Aquarius is now seen as being ruled by planet Uranus – but before this planet was discovered it was ruled by Saturn.  All the planets of our solar system are in each person’s chart. Saturn has dominion over rules and regulations, discipline, structure and leadership. Its symbol looks a little like an ‘h’ with a line crossing the vertical. On Aquarius’s arrow this is inside the Air symbol.  The planet Uranus has almost the opposite influence to Saturn. It is rebellious, brings upheaval and loves freedom.  Its symbol is a circle with a cross on top. There is a crescent on each side of the cross. You can find it on the arrow in contrasting black and white just below the Air triangle symbol.

Groups of Planets

The planets in a chart are described as personal (The “Luminaries” Sun and Moon, Mercury, Venus and Mars) and are the more inner planets. Social planets come next (Jupiter and Saturn).   Transpersonal or outer planets are Uranus, Neptune and Pluto (yes, yes I KNOW it’s now classed as a dwarf planet but it works as a planet in Astrology and other bodies such as Eris, Ceres etc can also be taken into account in a chart.)  Aquarius’s co-ruling planet of Saturn is a social planet and almost at the bottom of the arrow I have drawn two diagonal lines to show this. At the top, to represent the Transpersonal Uranus there are three lines just below the arrow head. (I draw one for the personal, two for social and three for the transpersonal planets.)

Aquarius’s Glyph

Astrology jewellery Pendant showing Zodiac sign of male Virgo as a Steampunk Character on a teal background

Although each sign has its own glyph or symbol, rather than stay traditional all the way I have incorporated my own idea into each arrow.  For Aquarius I have several interlocking black and white triangles and diamonds. This is to show that Aquarius are social people. A true Aquarian is a champion of the underdog and is egalitarian – my ‘glyph’ represents a group of differing people being unified as equals within a circle of Aquarian protection.

Aquarius Arrowhead

Interlocking triangles of black and white reinforce the idea I’ve shown in the glyph. It also shows their radical ideas and pioneering spirit – pushing forward but not in a conventional or monotone way.  They sometimes feel that they don’t quite fit in.  That’s why at the very bottom of the arrow I show a ‘square peg in a round hole’.

To complete the design I have included the constellation of Aquarius. The stars are drawn in turquoise blue – the traditional colour of Aquarius.

Leave a reply